Transit Guide for Beginners 5 Steps

1. There’s two kinds of Transits you can look at:

a) by ASPECT: the planets in their current position in the sky (= “transit planets”) making aspects to the planets’ position from the time when you were born (= “natal planets”). They can aspect one or more planets in your natal Chart.
The nature of the Transit will be shown by the basic energies of all planets involved, as well as the nature of the aspect. Generally harmonious aspects feel smooth, empowering and rather pleasant while disharmonious aspects may feel frustrating, threatening and generally unsettling. Remember though: transits show the kind energy that is currently in your life – they never show the outcome and the way you deal with it is up to you always.
By showing you what is going on in your life, astrology can guide you to work with these energies instead of against them.

“Harmonious” = trine, sextile, (sometimes conjunction, depending on the planets involved)

“Disharmonious”= opposition, square, inconjunction, (sometimes conjunction)

PS. You can also look at minor aspects (above I only listed the major aspects). As a beginner, I’d suggest starting with the major aspects, though)

b) by HOUSE: as the planets are constantly moving they will basically transit counter-clockwise through your natal Chart over the years. Due to their difference in speed, this will take them a different amount of time. Thus, the Moon (fastest moving planet) moves through your whole Chart every 28 days while Pluto (slowest) takes around 250 years (in 2. I will explain why this is important).
The current House the planets are transiting through will show you the area of life where that planet’s energy will be showing up, asking to be integrated.

1H = (AC) the self, identity, physical constitution, birth, conditioning, beginnings

2H = money, values, self worth, your belongings, resources, food, the body

3H = communication, learning, siblings, peers, neighbourhoods

4H = (IC) childhood, family, the mother

5H = fun/play, children, romance/ affairs, young adulthood, hobbies, self-expression, (the father)

6H = work, routine, health, servitude, animals, daily life, the mundane

7H = relationships, love, commitment, close friendships, connection to other people

8H = the hidden, sexuality, death (and rebirth), occult/taboo stuff, “dark” themes, supernaturalism, psychological resources, other people’s money (inheritances etc), ancestors

9H = world views, travel, spirituality, higher learning (like university)

10H = (MC) career, society, (the father)

11H = groups, friends, the collective, societal causes

12H = the subconscious, dreams, solitude, spirituality, out of world experiences, psychedelic substances (drugs), endings

2. When looking at transiting planets, always look at the outer planets (Pluto, Neptune, Uranus, (Chiron), Saturn) first. Their Transits are of greater significance in comparison to the Transits of quicker moving planets such as the Moon, Venus, Mercury or the Sun. They set the underlying tone of your life’s phase, they take longer than Moon/Venus/Mercury (…) Transits and they often are once-in-a-lifetime, marking character developments, challenges and turning points in your life.
As a general rule, I look at Transits of: Pluto, Neptune, Uranus, Chiron, Saturn and Jupiter and at a few instances at Mars and Venus (but only if I’ve been feeling Mars-y or Venus-y and want to find out why 🙂

Pluto = (inner) change, transformation, authenticity, purging, buried/hidden/dark parts of the psyche

Neptune = dissolution, release, transcendence, dreams, divinity, dependency, lack of boundaries, universal love, salvation

Uranus = (outer) change, independence, freedom, breaking out, disruption

Chiron = pain, (old) wounds, sensitivity, healing

Saturn = maturity, structure, restriction, Karma

Jupiter = expansion, opportunity, luck

3. As for the natal planets that are being aspected, the personal planets (Sun, Moon, Venus, Mercury, Mars) matter a tad more than the generational planets (Pluto etc). Your personal planets are “very personal” as someone only born a few days before or after you might have them at completely different positions (esp. the Moon, which if our feelings). They make up the “basic 5” of our personality. Transits to our personal planets are felt more directly as they mark changes to our very core (which doesn’t mean that Transits to the other planets don’t matter though but to keep it simple I will not go into detail about them here)

Sun = self, identity, action, wants, males (esp.the father)

Moon = feelings, needs, sensitivity, females (esp. the mother)

Venus = relating, showing love and affection, sensuality, money, the (inner) female

Mercury = thinking, communicating, expressing one’s self, moving

Mars = acting, asserting one’s self, aggression, fighting, sexuality, the (inner) male

4. Keep in mind: The Transit isn’t “making” you feel or experience something. The analogy I use would be more of how you Chart and it’s Transits are like a clock – they work after the principle of synchronicity (“as above, so below”) which means what happens with you can be seen in your personal Transits but it’s more of a mirror of what’s happening with(in) you – and not the other way around. So basically saying things like, Mars’ energy is making me angry, isn’t quite accurate. The anger that is manifesting in your life right now is shown/ signified by Mars in your Transit Chart

5. I swear to God : Google is your friend 🙂
With this guide you have a small tool-kit to roughly have an idea how to find out what’s going on in your Chart transit-wise. However, once you’ve seen (for example) that Pluto is transiting your AC or Neptune is squaring your Sun, I’d just advice you to simply google the Transit – there’s many great sites out there, explaining them brilliantly.
I still do this all the time and it’s always an eye-opener 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *